Choosing The Right Kind Of Diamond


Choosing The Right Kind Of Diamond

We have already spoken a lot about the 4Cs of a diamond in our earlier blogs; the 4Cs of Carat, Cut, Colour, and Clarity that help determine the genuity of the precious stone. Today, let’s take a deeper look into the factors you may consider while buying your diamond to ensure that you’re making the perfect choice.

Carat of a diamond

Carat refers to the weight of the diamond. It isn’t necessary that a big sized diamond is always a good buy, and a small sized diamond is not much precious. The carat is what decides how heavy or light the diamond is, and not the size. To explain to you in depth, a larger diameter and a high cut grade results in a smaller carat appearing larger, whereas a smaller diameter and a low-cut grade will make a large carat diamond appear smaller.

Cut of a diamond

The cut determines how the light enters and leaves a diamond, bringing a reflection and sparkle to the stone. For instance, shallow cuts have the light to escape through the bottom of the diamond, while deep cuts have the light to escape out the side. Thus, you must ensure the best cut that can help you have a diamond that can sparkle for generations to come.

Colour of a diamond

The highest quality diamonds are colourless, while low grade diamonds are generally pale yellow. The GIA grades diamonds on a scale of D to Z, with D being colourless and Z being yellow. There are six such categories on the GIA diamond chart. D to F category diamonds are of the highest quality, which is why they are rare and expensive. G to J diamonds are near-to-colourless, but are affordable, which makes them an excellent value for buying on a budget. And, diamonds close to the Z category shouldn’t even be considered.

Clarity of a diamond

If you think you must buy diamonds that are clear and flawless, think about it again. Diamonds are minerals mined from the earth, which means imperfections, blemishes, and inclusions are obvious. On the other hand, diamonds that are clear with no blemishes or flaws are in fact lab-made, which means they are not natural. So, if you hold a diamond that has clouds, cavities, grains, spots, breaks, chips, pits, polish lines, and scratches, you must immediately understand that the diamond is a natural one. In fact, GIA has seven categories of clarity grading too.

  1. FL – Flawless (visually flawless)
  2. IF – Internally Flawless (small surface blemished)
  3. VVS – Very Very Slightly Included (very tiny inclusions)
  4. VS – Very Slightly Included (minimal inclusions)
  5. SI – Slightly Included (noticeable inclusions)
  6. I1 – Included (visible inclusions)
  7. I2 & I3 – Heavily Included (obvious inclusions)

There are a variety of factors that affect the clarity of a diamond. Some include the size of the inclusions or blemishes in the diamond, the number of flaws, the position of the inclusions or blemishes, and the contrast between the diamond and the flaws.

Other factors

Fluorescence – This is the glow of a diamond when it emits visible light. A diamond’s fluorescence is graded by its intensity. While GIA considers fluorescence as an identifying characteristic of a diamond, it also voices that an average observer will not be able to detect any systematic effects of fluorescence.

Shape – Some popularly admired diamond shapes include round cut, princess cut, emerald cut, asscher cut, marquise cut, oval cut, radiant cut, pear shape, heart shape, and cushion cut. Each cut has its own uniqueness and gives its own brilliance.

All these factors considered well can help you make the right diamond purchase. However, if all of this is too much to digest for you, you can simply just rely upon the advice of Aura Jewels, one of the best diamond jewellery shops in Bangalore, where you can rest assured to get not only the right advice, but also only genuine real diamonds.